I just received this email in my inbox, a thinly veiled attempt at sucking money out of me to register .asia domain names. Be watchful of notices to register domains to protect your trademark and intellectual property in International areas. The most common I have seen are Chinese .cn domains and .cm domain names.
If you receive an unsolicited email like this is may be a scam. The best thing to do is contact your web developer, web service provider or domain name registrar to verify the legitimacy of the demands.
Before registering any domain name with an exotic extension, make sure you contact your webmaster or local accredited domain name registrar such as NetworkSolutions, Godaddy, or Enom.com
This is the email I received:
Dear CEO & Principal
We are a domain name registration and dispute organization in Asia, which mainly deal with the global companies’ domain name registration and internet Intellectual property right protection in Asia. Currently, we have a pretty important issue needing to confirm with your company.
On Aug 10, 2009, we received an application formally. One company named “FJS Holdings Ltd” wanted to applied for the internet keyword “Netpaths” and some domain names through our body.
Now we are handling with the registration of these domain names and find that the keyword of these domain names and internet keyword is identical with your company’s. So we have to confirm with you at two points:
1. If your company consign FJS Holdings to register these domain names and internet keyword, we will send application form to them and help them finish the registration at once.
2. If your company have nothing to do with FJS Holdings, they maybe have other purposes to register these domain names and internet keyword.
In order to deal with this issue better, please contact us by email or telephone ASAP.
Best Regards,
Tim Hu
Auditing Department
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Tel: +852-2297-9279
Fax: +852-2297-9209
Email: Tim@eworld.hk
Email: Tim@eworlddnr.hk
Website:
http://www.eworld.hk
Tim
Related posts:
- Enom Promo Codes For Discount Domain Name Registrations
- Failed ME Domain Name Registration Landrush
- How To Scoop Up Quality Expiring Domain Names
- Buying and Selling Domain Names







August 20th, 2009 at 10:24 pm
Love your SEO blog, it’s nice to see one with quality information about unethical domain name registrars. I have a domain name related site
August 27th, 2009 at 3:20 pm
Yeah right, i cant believe these phony domain name registrars are trying to scam innocent people with foreign domain name registrations. Thank You for notifying us.
September 6th, 2009 at 1:55 am
Doesn’t it take up a lot of time to keep a domain name registration business working? Why don’t they invest their time in a legitimate business?
September 6th, 2009 at 6:57 pm
I admire the time and effort you put into your blog. I wish I had the same drive to investigate online resellers and questionable domain name registration practices.
September 7th, 2009 at 7:40 am
I have read your domain name posts and they are good. Thanks for posting about shady domain resellers in your blog.
September 8th, 2009 at 11:39 am
Particular helpful information about international domain name registrars but there are some old firms where I would not agree are doing bad business.
March 18th, 2010 at 9:27 am
Our NGO was targeted by this scammer. I was feeling it was a scam but did not know how to confirm. This posting is a real public service. I will be on my toes for now on.
March 30th, 2010 at 3:27 pm
Never use an unknown domain name registrar. I have used Go Daddy forever and had great success with them. There are lots of the recurring Godaddy promo codes – Here are the reissued coupons that were just put out:
.COM Domain Names or Manual Renewals for just $7.49 – Use Go Daddy promo codes GOO3, OK9, or ZINE10.
25% discount on orders of $100+ – Use Go Daddy promo code OK25.
30% Discount when you buy any com domain – Use Go Daddy coupon code OK30.
$12.99 SSL Certificates – Use Go Daddy coupon codes GOOSSL, OKSSL, or ZINESSL.
Hosting Plan Discount – 20% Off Hosting – Use Go Daddy promo codes OK20H, ZINE20H1 or GOO20H.
apply them now
April 6th, 2010 at 9:17 pm
Another Fantastic wordpress post, I will be sure to save this in my Digg account. Have a awesome day.
April 16th, 2010 at 4:24 pm
hiya interesting read about domain name registrars. Glad to know anyone has answers to my questions about international domain name buying.
June 14th, 2010 at 10:44 am
Thanks for your time in posting about suspect domain name registrars. It was great information and I feel I learned a lot from your experience and summary of offshore scams.
June 14th, 2010 at 12:17 pm
I have been Domain Parking for a good while now, My revenue seems to of started going down, But since i have moved and started Domain Parking with another company called Parks Dot Com Limited my revenue has jumeped betweem 33%-45%
I have put it down to a user being able to complety customise their landing page, It is working for me, and their video is work a look to see what I mean, with making money using domain name parking.
Found you blog on Yahoo Good find , keep up the great work
June 16th, 2010 at 2:15 am
Can you explain what the the difference in these registrars is?
June 17th, 2010 at 12:53 pm
Do you recommend a unique strategy setup for my Domaining adapter website to create targeted leads using outgoing SIP Calls?
July 12th, 2010 at 2:25 pm
ggrrr! i want to get this page copied into my touch screen phone that way i can show my cousin, but i cant figure out how.. can any one show me how please??
October 2nd, 2010 at 4:04 pm
Registrars in the United States are generally trustworthy, however watch out for smaller domain name registrars who will try to steal your names.
November 5th, 2010 at 6:55 am
I can’t believe there are still bad registrars selling names.
November 5th, 2010 at 10:25 am
Nice, you give me some good info about how to save my domain names from shady resellers.
November 23rd, 2010 at 10:29 pm
Not all asian domain firms are bad!
September 30th, 2011 at 5:12 am
Thanks a million and please keep up the gratifying work. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is magnificent blog.